© Lancashire Evening Telegraph 2009
from left to right: Chairman of Governors David King, Head Girl Alexandra Davis, Headteacher Marc Morris, Head Boy Declan Hollows and leader of Lancashire County Council Geoff Driver

Year 11 students were rewarded for a year of excellence at an awards ceremony on Wednesday, November 4th. More than 50 students who excelled in various subjects, including Maths, Science, English, Geography, Drama, Music and History, were awarded prizes and certificates by ex-BRGS student Mr Geoff Driver, new Leader of Lancashire County Council.

Deputy headteacher Dr Edwards said: “This was the best-ever GCSE summer for BRGS. We were delighted with the overall success for the students, which reflected their hard work and the drive by the staff to reform teaching and learning styles. We look forward to continuing the partnership into the sixth form and welcoming all students who will be joining us.”

The award winners included:
Richard Karoo Fellowship for Academic Excellence:- James Mitchell
George Allen Memorial Trophy for Music:- Chalcedony Williams
Music Cup:- Oliver Sikora
Holt Memorial Prize for Music:- Bethan Gregory, Hannah Potts
Music Department Higher Education Award:- Thomas Sutcliffe
Junior Music Shield:- Jack Westerman
Upper Sixth English Prize:- Laura Longworth
Speak without Fear Prize for Theatre Studies:- Christian Schofield
Neil McRobert Prize for English Literature:- Reanne Crane.
Upper Sixth Drama & Theatre Studies Prize:- Jessica McGuinness
Media Studies Prize:- Liam Healey
Freda Ebden Memorial Prize for English:- Sam Bowers
Jack E. Barnes Cup for English (GCSE):- Rachel Bond
Jane Biran Prize for English Linguistics (A level):- Hayley Nixon
Linda & Tony Fuller Award for Maths and Science:- Michael Worrall
Dorothy Moore Mathematics Prize:- Christopher Pearson
Year 10 Mathematics Prize (Mrs B.J. White):- Rima Khanom
Michael Churnside Mathematics Prize for Endeavour:- Emma Finnerty
F. Harding Geography Prize:- Sally Dearden, Michael Scott, Simon Allan, Bethan Gregory
Madison Filter Ltd Prize for Economics:- Toby Cockayne, Sean Kinsella
NatWest Bank Prize for Economics:- Stephen Hill, Charlotte Livesey
Howard Jackson Trophy for Business Studies:- James Curtis
Kingfisher Partnership Prize for Business Studies:- Edward Ainsworth