A very close and exciting game between two evenly matched teams in which the lead changed hands 14 times. At the end of the first quarter Preston led 22-20.

At half time the score was 39-38in BRGS’s favour. Preston held a slender advantage at the end of the third quarter 61-59. Half way through the final period BRGS led 69-67, it could still go either way but 6 unanswered points in the next couple of minutes swung the game our way and we won the trophy 78-69.

This is the 5th time that BRGS has won this trophy, the previous 4 being in 1999, 2001, 2002 and 2003.

The Players
An excellent team performance with everybody living up to their potential.

Jake Campbell was awarded the MVP-Most Valuable Player-for his overall contribution with excellent defence and rebounding. Jake was also the teams second highest scorer with 22 points.

Cameron Bradshaw performed his usual trick of getting himself fouled out but not before he’d scored 34 points making him the games top scorer.

Colm Kennedy and Tom Sipocz both performed superbly in their last game for the school, winning a trophy for the first time in 7 years of trying.

Jamie McMullen’s defensive rebounds and shot blocks were crucial in keeping Preston’s score down.

Josh Rhodes and David Adams worked tirelessly for the team.

Gaige Kinsella had the important job of keeping the bench warm.